Republic of Ireland, the

Republic of Ireland, the, Ireland, the Irish Republic, Eire, Southern Ireland
a country that forms the larger part of the island of Ireland, and which is a member of the EU. Population: 3,917,203 (2002). Capital: Dublin. It was formerly ruled by the British, but it became an independent country in 1921 , when Ireland was divided into Northern Ireland (which remained as part of the UK) and the Irish Free State, which later became the Republic of Ireland. Ireland is mainly a Roman Catholic country. Its official languages are Irish Gaelic and English. Traditionally, Ireland's main industry was farming, but it has developed new industries.

Dictionary pictures of the day
Do you know what each of these is called?
What is the word for picture 1? What is the word for picture 2? What is the word for picture 3? What is the word for picture 4?
Click on any of the pictures above to find out what it is called.