English version


From Longman Dictionary of Contemporary EnglishMaltaMal‧ta /ˈmɔːltə/  a group of small islands in the Mediterranean Sea, formerly ruled by the UK. It has been an independent republic and a member of the British Commonwealth since 1964. It consists of three main islands, Malta, Gozo, and Comino, and is popular with British tourists. Population: 403,532 (2008). Capital: Valletta. In 2004 Malta joined the EU.
Pictures of the day
What are these?
Click on the pictures to check.